Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Graduate Student Prizes

The Moez Alimohamed Graduate Student Award for Distinguished Teaching in Mathematics

The Moez Alimohamed Teaching Award was established in 1994 in memory of Moez Alimohamed, a very successful and highly popular graduate student. Moez was a dedicated teacher, who received several department awards for teaching excellence. The award is presented annually to a graduate student in the Mathematics Department who displays this same commitment to teaching.

The Carlitz-Zippin Prize

The Carlitz-Zippin Prize honors the memory and achievements of two Penn Ph.D.'s in Mathematics: Leonard Carlitz (Ph.D. 1930) and Leo Zippin (Ph.D. 1929), both of whom had distinguished careers as mathematicians. This prize is awarded each year to a finishing Ph.D. student for an especially meritorious thesis that lives up to the high standards of the prize's namesakes.

The Herbert S. Wilf Memorial Award

The Herbert S. Wilf Memorial Award was established in memory of Herbert Wilf, a long time professor in Penn's Mathematics Department who was an example of a profound mathematical researcher as well as an excellent expositor and teacher. He passionately believed these qualities were inextricably entwined and with them he inspired students to great heights. This prize is awarded each year to the graduate student who best exemplifies these same characteristics of excellent research and communication.

Math Department Good Teaching Awards

These awards are given each semester to those teaching assistants who have done an especially good job teaching during the previous semester, as evidenced both by student and faculty observations.

List of prize winners