Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Course Description

This is an honors version of Math 240. It will cover the material in greater depth than that course, with more challenging problems and more attention to definitions and to the reasons behind the results. The course assumes familiarity with the material in Math 116. The precise sequence of topics within each semester will differ somewhat between the Math 114-240 sequence and the Math 116-260 sequence; but over the course of the two semesters, the honors sequence will cover the usual material and more. Students who wish to take further mathematics courses beyond Math 116 and 260 will be prepared to take either of two sequences in analysis/advanced calculus (Math 360-361 or Math 508-509), and either of two sequences in abstract and linear algebra (Math 370-371 or Math 502-503).

Textbook:

[To Be Decided]

Contents of course:

  • Linear algebra: vectors, matrices, systems of linear equations, eigenvalues and eigenvectors.
  • Ordinary differential equations: linear differential equations, systems of differential equations.
  • Calculus of scalar and vector fields: functions of several variables, applications of differential calculus, line integrals, multiple integrals, surface integrals.

Detailed syllabus

Math 260 Old Final Exams


Important Dates

  • Tuesday August 29 - First Day of Classes
  • Monday September 4 - Labor Day (No Classes)
  • Monday September 18 - Course Selection Period Ends
  • Thursday September 21-Friday September 22 - Rosh Hashana
  • Thursday October 5 - Sunday October 8 - Fall Break (No classes)
  • Monday October 9 - Drop Period Ends
  • Friday November 10 - Last day to withdraw from a course
  • Tuesday November 21 - Classes follow Thursday schedule
  • Wednesday November 22 - Classes follow Friday schedule¬†
  • Thursday November 23-26 - Thanksgiving Break (No classes)
  • Monday December 11 - Last Day of Classes
  • Tuesday December 12-Wednesday December 13 - Reading Days
  • Calculus Common Final Exams: Math 103, 104, 114, 115, 240, 241
    Thursday December 14th, 9:00-11:00am
     
  • Fall 2017 Final Exams (registrar's listing)
  • The College Calendar
  • Penn's Three-Year Academic Calendar