Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Course Description

This is an honors version of Math 240. It will cover the material in greater depth than that course, with more challenging problems and more attention to definitions and to the reasons behind the results. The course assumes familiarity with the material in Math 116. The precise sequence of topics within each semester will differ somewhat between the Math 114-240 sequence and the Math 116-260 sequence; but over the course of the two semesters, the honors sequence will cover the usual material and more. Students who wish to take further mathematics courses beyond Math 116 and 260 will be prepared to take either of two sequences in analysis/advanced calculus (Math 360-361 or Math 508-509), and either of two sequences in abstract and linear algebra (Math 370-371 or Math 502-503).

Textbook:

Tom Apostol, Calculus, volumes I and II, second edition. On reserve at MPA library, DRL 3N1.

Topics covered:

  • Linear spaces. Volume II, Chapter 1 (= Volume I, Chapter 15).

  • Linear transformations and matrices. Volume II, Chapter 2 (= Volume I, Chapter 16).

  • Determinants. Volume II, Chapter 3.

  • Eigenvalues and eigenvectors. Volume II, Chapter 4.

  • Eigenvalues of operators on Euclidean spaces. Volume II, Chapter 5.

  • Introduction to dierential equations. Volume I, Chapter 8.

  • Linear dierential equations. Volume II, Chapter 6.

  • Systems of dierential equations. Volume II, Chapter 7.

Math 260 Old Final Exams


Important Dates

  • Tuesday August 28 - First Day of Classes 
  • Monday September 3 - Labor Day (No Classes)
  • Monday September 10 - Tuesday September 11 - Rosh Hashanah
  • Monday September 17 - Course Selection Period Ends
  • Thursday October 4 - Sunday October 7 - Fall Term Break
  • Monday October 8 - Drop Period Ends
  • Friday October 19 - Sunday October 21 - Family Weekend
  • Friday November 9 - Last day to withdraw from a course
  • Tuesday November 20 - Follow Thursday schedule
  • Wednesday November 21 - Follow Friday schedule
  • Thursday November 22 - Sunday November 25 - Thanksgiving Break 
  • Monday December 10 - Last Day of Classes
  • Tuesday December 11 - Wednesday December 12 - Reading Days
  • Calculus Common Final Exams: Math 103, 104, 114, 115, 240, 241
    Wednesday December 19th 9-11am
  • Room Roster
  • Fall 2018 Final Exams (registrar's listing)
  • The College Calendar
  • Penn's Three-Year Academic Calendar